2013 MVP and Performance of the Year awards


Ben Saarel won the 2013 3A MVP and Performance of the year award- Photo by Kyle Perry. 


The 2013 Boys Track MVP’s and Performance of the year awards as voted on by the coaches.


5A- Andrew Brewer- Bingham. Brewer had a fantastic junior season, winning the state championship in the 1600m over a very talented field. He ran PR’s of 1:53 in the 800m, 4:13 in the 1600m, and 9:22 in the 3200m.

4A- Jacob Heslington- Timpanogos. Heslington capped a great senior season with one of the best state meets in Utah history. At the state meet he won the 1600 in 4:12.22, won the 3200 in 9:09.88, and was a close second in the 800m in 1:53.70. He also joined the sub 9 club at arcadia running 8:59.73.

3A- Ben Saarel- Park City. Saarel solidified himself as one of the very greatest distance runners in Utah history. He won every race he ran on Utah soil, and only lost once outside of Utah all season, including winning the Adidas Dream mile in 4:02. He set the All-Classifications state records in 800m at 1:51.13, 1600m at 4:07.95, and 3200m at 8:49.08. He will be taking his talents to University of Colorado this fall.

2A- Derek Sorensen- Richfield. Sorensen, only a junior, won both the 100m and 200m at the 2013 state championship. He ran personal best times of 11.03 in the 100m and 22.26 in the 200m at the state meet en route to his state titles. He will be a valuable asset to Richfield next year as they seek to defend their 2013 state championship.

1A- Nick Edwards- Layton Christian Acadamy. Edwards had a very strong senior campaign as he won both the 100m and 400m at the state championship. Also highlighting his season was his Athlete of the Meet award from the BYU invitational. He ran personal bests on the season of 22.25 in the 200m, and 49.47 in the 400m.


Performance of the Year

5A- Brayden McLelland- American Fork. McLelland’s solo performance in 3200m at the state meet inspired everyone as he methodically pulled away from the stacked field to win by a long shot, finishing with a time of 9:09.5.

4A- Jake Heslington- Timpanogos. Heslington. Heslington had many performances that were worthy of the Performance of the year award, but the one that earned him the award was his 9:07 3200m at the BYU invitational. The time was hard fought and was a new 4A state record.

3A- Ben Saarel- Park City. It seemed that Ben Saarel set a new state record every time he stepped on the track this season. Ultimately, his performance that earned him the award was his 8:49 3200m at the BYU invitational.

2A- Joshua Clark had a great season and his throw of 193’9” in the Javelin earned him a share of the performance of the year award. He is actually from a 3A school so this Award will be amended. If he gets a share of the 3A performance of the year, the 2A performance of the year could go to a few different athletes. Check back here for the correction when it happens.

1A- Braxton Syrett- Bryce Valley. Syrett had a fantastic throw in the Javelin at the BYU invitational with a throw of 173’3” for the win. 

Girls awards will be posted tomorrow.